Drawing with Kids – The Warli Way…

IMG_0960imagesCA8QPGA8Lately my 4 year old is showing great interest in drawing. She has been scribbling with crayons & coloured pens since she was less than a year old… I realised she could do with a little direction to her strokes, so I introduced her to ‘Warli Painting’.
‘Warlis’ are tribes of INDIA in Mountainous as well as coastal areas of Maharashtra-Gujarat border and surrounding areas. They have a very distinct & crude form of drawing. Their images are stick figures usually comprising of simple geometrical shapes & it was easy for my 4 year old to follow the patterns as I drew & now she is totally hooked to it… She makes an attempt to do at least one Warli painting a day & that works great for me… I have at least sometime for myself when she is on her Warli Way… 🙂 

Leave a Reply

