A lady on the street!

I see this lady on a busy street,
Rushing her way through everyone she meets,
with her swift walks & fast talks,
she stood apart from the flock…

She juggles & struggles with the order of her day,
An expert at puzzles I must say,
Arranging & rearranging her plan of action,
Nothing with her lasts more than a fraction…

Challenges surrounding her from dawn to dusk,
making her stronger, for she must,
carefully nurture & protects her all,
Never once fearing a fall…

But finally, there came one day,
when I saw her on a not-so busy street,
She was not storming her way,
nor were there wheels on her feet…

She stood still right front of me and I looked straight into her weary eyes,
I thought to myself how can it be,
that someone I saw every day,
now feels so different in many ways…

She was ageing I could tell,
She had greys in abundance & some missing hair,
Wrinkles rested on her forehead & eyes,
Told stories of how time flies…

She looked straight at me & gave me a smile,
I noticed her dimples were just like mine,
& in a fraction of seconds, the glass door pushed open,
I stepped back like something had broken…

I stood there shattered, in the light of a faint realization,
The door shut close & in that moment of desperation,
the lady who disappeared was back for me to see,
And who I saw, was no one else but… ME!

Leave a comment